Make your own free website on

Home Shahada Prophet of Islam Prayer Charity Fasting Pilgrimage Quran Hadith Parents Rights Marriage Important Dua's Misc Ariticles Islamic Diet Picture Gallery Links Suggestions


What is Prayer
Importance of Prayer
Ishraq Prayer
Salah for Sick person

Compulsory Salah –

A Muslim must pray five times a day. The compulsory prayers are called Fard in Arabic. Each unit of prayer is called a Rakah. Fard prayers are:

Fajr: 2 Rakahs

Zuhr: 4 Rakahs

Asr: 4 Rakahs

Maghrib: 3 Rakahs

Isha: 4 Rakahs


Sunnah Salah-

Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) prayed extra rakahs in addition to fard prayers. These prayers are called Sunnah.

Sunnah prayers are:

Fajr: 2 Rakahs before Fard

Zuhr: 4 before Fard and 2 after

Asr: 4 (optional) before fard

Maghrib: 2 Rakah after fard

Isha: 4 optional before fard, 2 rakahs after fard and 3 Witr. (odd number rakah)


Times when you must not pray:

  1. From the beginning of sunrise until after 15-20 mins later.
  2. When the sun is at it’s height (Zenith or Meridian)
  3. From the beginning of sunset until it is fully set.