Make your own free website on

Islamic Diet
Home Shahada Prophet of Islam Prayer Charity Fasting Pilgrimage Quran Hadith Parents Rights Marriage Important Dua's Misc Ariticles Islamic Diet Picture Gallery Links Suggestions





The following information were extracted from the Muslim Consumer Guide



We hope that it be of great use to you, and we also hope that you will read the ingredient on every product before you make your purchase. It is of utmost important for us muslims to take this precaution since it is given to us in our knowledge from other brothers and sister in Islam. No particular question was asked on products that contain alcohol. The response from the companies were excellent. One of our brothers who visited us from Michigan had told us that ingredients as EMULSIER, DOUGH CONDITIONER, MONO & DIGLYCERIDES AND GELATIN were of the same origin, that is most probably from animal (beef or swine). NOTE: Please check the ingredients (made of/from) for contents every time you make a purchase. If in doubt, you may write to the company, they have been very helpful and your mind will be at ease. This is Islam, please don't make things convenient to your liking but follow the path of Islam. Allah loves those who follow the path of righteousness.

Ingredients List:

Acetic Acid Halal Glycerol/glycerin (plant) Halal
Alcohol Haram Glycerol Stearate Mushbooh
Ammonium chloride Halal Glycogen Mushbooh
Ammonium sulfate Halal Gum Acacia Halal
Animal Shortening/Fat Haram Hormones (animal) Mushbooh
Ascorbic acid Halal Hormones (plant) Halal
Aspartame Halal Hydrogenated Oil Halal
Benzoate/Benzoic acid Halal Hydrolyzed Animal Protein Mushbooh
Bacon (Pork) Haram Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein Halal
BHA Halal Lard Haram
BHT Halal Leavenings Halal
Calcium carbonate Halal Lecithin (Soya or Vege.) Halal
Calcium sulfate Halal Malt Halal
Carrageenan Halal Malto Dextrin Halal
Cholesterol Mushbooh Molases Halal
Citric Acid Halal Mono Calcium phosphate Halal
Cocoa Butter Halal Mono Saccharides Halal
Collagen (Pork) Haram Monoglycerides (animal) Mushbooh
Corn Meal/Corn Starch Halal Monoglycerides (plant) Halal
Corn Syrup Halal MSG (Monosodium Glutamate) Halal
Dextrin/Dextrose Halal Nitrates/Nitrites Halal
Dicalcium phosphate Halal Nonfat Dry Milk Halal
Diglyceride (animal) Mushbooh Oxalic acid Halal
Diglyceride (plant) Halal Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil Halal
EDTA Halal PABA Halal
Enzyme (animal) Mushbooh Pectic materials Halal
Enzyme (plant) Halal Pectin Halal
Ergocalcifirol Halal Pepsin (animal) Mushbooh
Ergosterol Halal Phospholipid (animal) Mushbooh
Ethoxylated Mono-/Di Glyceride Mushbooh Phospholipid (plant) Halal
Fatty acid (animal) Mushbooh Phosphoric acid Halal
Fatty acid (plant) Halal Pork Haram
Ferrous sulfate Halal Potassium Benzoate Halal
Ferrous Sulfate Halal Potassium Bromate Halal
Fructose Halal Potassium Citrate Halal
Fungal Protease Enzyme Halal Propionate Halal
Gelatin / Kosher Gelatin Haram Propionic acid Halal
Glucose Halal Renin / Rennet** Mushbooh
Glyceride (animal) Mushbooh Saccherine Halal
Glyceride (plant) Halal Salt Halal
Glycerol/glycerin Mushbooh Tapioca Halal
Soya Protein Halal Tricalcium Phosphate Halal
Soybean Oil Halal Vegetable Oil Halal
Sucrose Halal Vinegar Halal
Shortening Mushbooh Whey Mushbooh
    Yeast Halal


Halal: Halal is a Quranic Term which means allowed or lawful. Halal foods and drinks are permitted for consumption by Allah- the supreme lawgiver. Eating Halal is obligatory.

Haram: Haram is a Quranic Term, which means prohibited or unlawful. Haram foods and drinks are absolutely prohibited for consumption by Allah. Eating Haram is forbidden for every Muslim.

Mushbooh: Mushbooh is an Arabic term which means suspected. If one does not know the Halal or Haram status of a particular food or drink, such a food or drink is doubtful. A practicing Muslims prevents himself from consuming doubtful things.


L.D.Schrieber Cheese Company:

No shortening, lard, gelatin or lecithin used. Cow products are used

Burger King Corp.:

Shortening are used includin those of swine . Lard are used in buns and apple pie . Lecithin are used in buns because you are not sure if it is soy or animal lecithin.

General Foods :

Lard are used on SWAN DOWN cake mixes. Gelatin (collagen-bearing tissues on any animal) are used in many products including Jell-O Brand Gelatin Desert

Knox Gelatin Inc. :

"Knox Gelatin is prepared from the protein collagen, which is extracted from either beef (bones and skin) or PORK (skins)"

American Lecithin Company :

Our Lecithin is derived from Soybeans and is sold under the trade name Alcoles

Nestle :

A list was sent to MSA signifing those that do not contain any anymal by product. Lechithin used in their products is derived from Soybeans

General Mills Inc.:

Shortening similar to lard is used, also Soya lechithin is used (be cause it does not say Soya or lard and you don't know so it is better not to use )

Quaker Oats :

Soyabeans Lecithin is used. Shortening is used from Swine. Some of the products are Masa Trigo, Flako pie crust and cup cake mix.


Derived from pork or other animals

Avoid or doubtful (may be derived from animal or vegetable)

dough conditioners
mono and diglyceriders
enzymes or rennet in cheese


soy lecithin
soyabean lecithin
vegetable lecithin
vegetable shortening
vegetable mono and diglyceriders
vegetable enzimes or rennetless cheese.

May contain alcohol - avoid

Artificial and imitation extracts and flavorings

When you see these letters

"U" or "K" they may mean that the produce does not contain anything from an animal.


Kellog Co.
Frosted Pop-tarts Type-B gelatin
(from veal/beef) Good
Unfrosted Pop-tarts No gelatin Good
Frank Foods
QT Frosting Mix Vegetable fat Good
General Mills Inc.
Ready-to-spread Vegetable fat
Frosting and/or Lard BAD
Proctor & Gamble
Duncan Hines Cake Mix Vegetable fat Good
Great Atlantic &
Pacific Co.
A & P Creamer Coconut & Palm Oil Good
Topco Assoc. Inc.
Food Club Non Dairy
Creamer Vegetable fat Good
Penn Maid Food Inc.
Natural Yogurt No gelatin Good
Swiss Yogurt Gelatin from
calf skin Good
Jolly Rancher
Candies Palm & Coconut
Oil Good
M & M Co.
Starburst Fruit Gelatin from
Chews Lard BAD
American Home Foods
Crunch 'n Munch Vegetable fat Good


Drake Bakeries Div.
of Borden Foods Inc.
Honey bun Lard BAD
All Products Vegetable Shortening Good
Giants Goods
Bread Vegetable Shortening Good
Huber Baking Co. Bakers
of sunshine Bread
Roman Meal Bread Soybean Salad Oil Good
All Products Vegetable Shortening,
Oleo and Lard BAD
All products Lard BAD
Pepperidge Farm
Rolls, Bread,
Butter or Cakes Vegetable Shortening Good
Layer Cakes NOTE: eventhough this cake
is made with good shortening the
Pillsbury Co.
1896 Brand Butter
milk Biscuit Vegetable shortening Good
Stroehmann Brothers Co
Hilibilly Bread;
White Bread Lard BAD
Sunshine Biscuit Co.
All Products Vegetable shortening Good


Baskin Robbins
Ice Cream Good
Sherberts Good
Water ice Good
Baskin Robbins
Ice cream and those flavors
containing miget marshmallow BAD
Ice Cream BAD
Pensupreme Schraff
Ice Cream (available at Safeway) Good
Meadow Gold
Ice Cream Good
Meadow Gold Louis Sherry
Ice Cream (all Natural) Good
Ice Cream Good
Sherberts Good
Water Ice Good
Pantry Price
Ice Cream Good
Ice Cream Good


Dynamint Co.
Dynamints Candelilla Wax Good
Wrigley's Co.
Chewing gum 100% Mineral or
Vegetable Base Good
Warner Lambert Co.
Chewing Gum Vegetable Base Good
Chicklets Vegetable Base Good
Dentyne Vegetable Base Good
Trident Vegetable Base Good
Freshen Up Vegetable Base Good
Chewing Gum Glcerl Monosterate
or Ester of Gum
from any animal fat Bad


Mozzarella Vegetable Good
Mozzarella Vegetable Good
Little Chef
Mozzarella Vegetable Good
Cheddar Swine pepsin BAD
Quaker Celeste
Mozzarella Swine pepsin BAD


Pizza Hut
Pizzas Mozzarella Vegetable Good


Purity Company
Muenster Vegetable Good
Caraway Muenster Vegetable Good
Monterey Jack Muenster
(w/hot pepper) Vegetable Good
Farmers Cheese Vegetable Good
Burie (imported) Vegetable Good
Camembert Vegetable Good
Romano Vegetable Good
Parmesan Vegetable Good
Philadelpia Cream Lactic acid Good
Whipped Cream Cheese Lactic acid Good
Neufchatel Lactic acid Good
McCadm Co.
New York State Calf & Swine
Renette BAD
Framageries Bal. Inc.
Cheese Calves Ren-net Good
World Cheese Col
Migdal American Vegetable Good
Haolam Vegetable Good
Schanling Col
Schnall American
(individually wrapped) Vegetable Good
Schnall Muenster sliced Vegetable Good
Schnall Mozzarella Vegetable Good
Clay Butter Co.
Miller's Cheese Vegetable Good


Proctor & Gamble Co.
Kirk's Coso Coconut Oil Good
Hardwater Castile
*Ivory Beef&Pork Tallow Bad
*Camay Beef&Pork Tallow Bad
*Safe Guard Beef&Pork Tallow Bad
*Zest Beef&Pork Tallow Bad
*Coast Beef&Pork Tallow Bad
*Lava Vegetable Fat Good
Lever Brothers Co.
*Lux Beef Tallow Good
*Lifebuoy Beef Tallow Good
*Phase II Beef Tallow Good
*Dove Beef Tallow Good
*Caress Beef Tallow Good
Colgate Palmolive Co.
*Palmolive Beef&Pork Tallow Bad
*Cashmere Beef&Pork Tallow Bad
Andrew Jergen Co.
*Jergens Beef Tallow Good
*Woodbury Beef Tallow Good
Armour Dial Inc.
*Dial Beef Tallow Good
*Tone Beef Tallow Good
*Irish Spring Pork Tallow Bad
Amway Corporation
All Bar Soaps Pork Tallow Bad
Nevia Creams Sheep's Skin/Fat Good
*Note : The beef that is obtained for the products is not slaughtered
Islamically; hence, it is still doubtful.


Lever Brothers Co.
Pepsodents Vegetable Fat Good
Close-Up Vegetable Fat Good
* Aim Vegetable Fat Good
Colgate Palmolive Co.
Ultra Brite Lard BAD
Colgate Paste Lard BAD
Colgate Powder Lard BAD
Vicks Chemical Co.
Fix-A-Dent Vegetable Fat Good

*Note : Contains alcohol; still in doubt about its use; final decision
is in your hands!


Avon All products Petrochemicals Good
Wella Corp.
Balsam products Petrochemicals Good
Johnson Products Inc.
Ultra Sheen Lanolin Good
Lustrasilk Corp.
Scalp Cream Lanolin Good
Westwood Pharmaceut
Keri Lotion Synthetic chemicals Good
Chesebrough-Ponds Inc.
Intensive Lotion Lard BAD


Lehn &Fink Products
Lyson Brand
All products Synthetic Chemicals Good


GM Co.
Rescue 11 Soap pads Good
Purex Corporation
Brillo Soap pads Lard BAD
Supreme Steel
Wool Balls Good
Kosher Soap
(packaged 2 ea.
pink & green bars
per carton) Beef Tallow Good
Dobie Pads Beef Tallow Good
Miles Laboratory
S.O.S Soap Pads Lard BAD
Tuffy Plastic Mesh
Balls Lard BAD


Quranic Ayah's referring to forbidden diet:

al-Baqarah 2:172 O you who believe! eat of the good things that We have provided you with, and give thanks to Allah if Him it is that you serve.

al-Baqarah 2:173 He has only forbidden you what dies of itself, and blood, and flesh of swine, and that over which any other (name) than (that of) Allah has been invoked; but whoever is driven to necessity, not desiring, nor exceeding the limit, no sin shall be upon him; surely Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.

al-Ma'idah 5:1 O you who believe! fulfill the obligations. The cattle quadrupeds are allowed to you except that which is recited to you, not violating the prohibition against game when you are entering upon the performance of the pilgrimage; surely Allah orders what He desires.

al-Ma'idah 5:3 Forbidden to you is that which dies of itself, and blood, and flesh of swine, and that on which any other name than that of Allah has been invoked, and the strangled (animal) and that beaten to death, and that killed by a fall and that killed by being smitten with the horn, and that which wild beasts have eaten, except what you slaughter, and what is sacrificed on stones set up (for idols) and that you divide by the arrows; that is a transgression. This day have those who disbelieve despaired of your religion, so fear them not, and fear Me. This day have I perfected for you your religion and completed My favor on you and chosen for you Islam as a religion; but whoever is compelled by hunger, not inclining willfully to sin, then surely Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.

al-Ma'idah 5:4 They ask you as to what is allowed to them. Say: The good things are allowed to you, and what you have taught the beasts and birds of prey, training them to hunt-- you teach them of what Allah has taught you-- so eat of that which they catch for you and mention the name of Allah over it; and be careful of (your duty to) Allah; surely Allah is swift in reckoning.

[al-Ma'idah 5:5] This day (all) the good things are allowed to you; and the food of those who have been given the Book is lawful for you and your food is lawful for them; and the chaste from among the believing women and the chaste from among those who have been given the Book before you (are lawful for you); when you have given them their dowries, taking (them) in marriage, not fornicating nor taking them for paramours in secret; and whoever denies faith, his work indeed is of no account, and in the hereafter he shall be one of the losers.

[al-Ma'idah 5:87] O you who believe! do not forbid (yourselves) the good things which Allah has made lawful for you and do not exceed the limits; surely Allah does not love those who exceed the limits.

[al-Ma'idah 5:88] Eat of that which Allah hath bestowed on you as food lawful and good, and keep your duty to Allah in Whom ye are believers.

[al-An`am 6:118] Therefore eat of that on which Allah's name has been mentioned if you are believers in His communications.

[al-An`am 6:119] And what reason have you that you should not eat of that on which Allah's name has been mentioned, and He has already made plain to you what He has forbidden to you-- excepting what you are compelled to; and most surely many would lead (people) astray by their low desires out of ignorance; surely your Lord-- He best knows those who exceed the limits.

[al-An`am 6:145] Say: I do not find in that which has been revealed to me anything forbidden for an eater to eat of except that it be what has died of itself, or blood poured forth, or flesh of swine-- for that surely is unclean-- or that which is a transgression, other than (the name of) Allah having been invoked on it; but whoever is driven to necessity, not desiring nor exceeding the limit, then surely your Lord is Forgiving, Merciful.

[an-Nahl 16:114] Therefore eat of what Allah has given you, lawful and good (things), and give thanks for Allah's favor if Him do you serve.

[an-Nahl 16:115] He has only forbidden you what dies of itself and blood and flesh of swine and that over which any other name than that of Allah has been invoked, but whoever is driven to necessity, not desiring nor exceeding the limit, then surely Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.

[an-Nahl 16:116] And, for what your tongues describe, do not utter the lie, (saying) This is lawful and this is unlawful, in order to forge a lie against Allah; surely those who forge the lie against Allah shall not prosper.