Make your own free website on

Rituals of Haj
Home Up Rituals of Haj Virtues of Haj



The rituals or 'manasek' of hajj can be divided into two types: the pillars of hajj and the compulsory rites of hajj. The difference between the two is that pillars of hajj are acts that pilgrims must do.

Failure to perform any one of the pillars results in the annulment of the whole pilgrimage.The compulsory rites, too, must be performed by the pilgrims, but if they forget to perform any one of these, their hajj is still valid because the forgotten rite can be replaced by a fine (damm), that is to sacrifice an animal for the sake of Allah SWT.

There are six pillars of hajj, namely:
1. To be dressed in ihraam and to make intentions for hajj and ihraam.

2. Wuqoof (stay) in Arafah on the 9th of ZulHijjah.

3. To perform tawaaful-Ifaadhah, that is the tawaaf for hajj. Tawaaf means to circumambulate the Ka'bah seven times consecutively with intention.

4. Sa'ie, that is hurrying between Safa and Marwah seven times.

5. Tahallul, i.e. shaving and clipping the hair.

6. Tertib i.e. to perform the pillars of hajj in correct sequence.

It is important to note that if a person forgets to perform any one of these pillars, his hajj becomes invalid - there is no damm (fine) to compensate for the pillars of hajj.

The compulsory rites of hajj are:
1. To put on the ihraam from the station (meeqaat) and to wear it until the end of the pilgrimage.

2. To stay overnight in Muzdalifah after the wuqoof (stay) i.e. after sundown on 9 Zulhijjah.

3. To spend two or three nights in Mina on the days of tashreeq i.e. 11, 12 and 13 Zul-Hijjah.

4. To stone Jamratul Aqabah on the 10th of ZulHijjah. The stoning starts after the pilgrims' arrival from Muzdalifah on 10 ZulHijjah.

5. To stone the three devils at Mina, i.e. jumratul-oola, jumratul-wusta and jumratul aqabah, on 10, 11, 12 and 13 (optional) ZulHijjah.

6. To leave all of the forbidden acts while in the state of ihraam.